Sitting at my Ono Sendai


the best city in the world, chipbros, and working like it’s not work
December 1, 2010, 2:56 am
Filed under: thoughts

I felt a longer update to life was necessary. Not sure who’s still listening/reading/lurking.

the best city in the world

Reflecting on the train over the past Thanksgiving weekend, I remember visiting New York exactly a year before that for the very first time and thinking: “who the hell could live in this place?”. Me, apparently. So very, very me. I’m still entirely not sure how that happened. I blame my eternal fascination for the sheer urbanity of this here collection of boroughs. I think my biggest fear before moving here was drowning in the sea of people and feeling really alone. In fact, other than my sister, I could only really say I would have trusted one person I knew here. That actually brings me to my next header tag…

chipbros

I had met Anamanaguchi at PAX09, they seemed like pretty chill bros, I even applied to be their bro intern at some point. ANYWAY, my first month here, I went to a monthly show called Pulsewave expecting to hear some pretty cool music. I’ve since gone to more chip shows than I can remember and met some of the coolest, friendliest people ever. For a while there, I was going to a show or two every weekend. I like this community, there are some incredibly genuine, incredibly talented people being awesome. And I took goob’s advice about being awesome to heart.

working like it’s not work

I remember being worried and panicked. Even the first month or so at Etsy was kind of trial-by-fire for me. “What am I doing? Do I even know how?” would jump into my head. But then I got into the swing of things, hell, I even gave a talk at my alma mater (with some help, of course). I’ve since been staying at work til 9 or 10 not because I have to, but because I really want to. I’m very excited about what we’re doing and I love the people I’m working with. Is it still a job if you’re enjoying the hell out of it? Either way, I’ve caught my stride. I was crawling out of my seat today because I couldn’t deploy code, so I started mucking about with our IRC bots. I think I just figured out how to make one talk in color, actually, I’m ending this post on that note just so I can tinker around with that.

one more thing

If you’re a friend I haven’t talked to in a while and you’re reading this. Please say hi somehow. I get awful at keeping in touch when I’m excited about things. Most of my contact info hasn’t changed, although you shouldn’t email me at my Andrew account. I actually threw together this page that kind of collects most of the social networks I’m on.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

So nice to read this, truly!

Comment by mbh

whoa dude! idle hands bring me here today, when i realized i probably don’t see your stuff by default. you are on so many social networks and none of them are ones i keep up with.

it is great to hear you are doing well. :)

Comment by bblum




Leave a Reply

