Sitting at my Ono Sendai


I’ve been thinking about…
December 8, 2008, 3:06 am
Filed under: thoughts | Tags:

putting the following in the little decorative nook in the top left of my room. I don’t know why (I hope I make that clear) and I don’t know whether it will work, but some part of me hopes it does.

Hi, my name is Dannel Jurado. I used to live here, at least between Fall of 2006 and Spring of 2009. If the person reading this is cleaning staff, please leave this note in the little crevice where you found it, I would appreciate it very much. I’m not sure what I wanted to say, I’m not sure what year it is, do we have teleports and/or flying fuel-efficient cars yet? That would be cool, they’ve been promising those for years. Does Google own the right to index our thoughts? Sometimes they scare me, especially the part where they think of just the right things and make them free. Anyway, I was a CS major (a Junior when I wrote this), it’s likely you’re not, especially if you’re cleaning this little nook. I hope I graduated with a BS in CS, I really wanted to even though I had no idea what I would do with the rest of my life. Are you a freshman? I have fond memories of fall of 2006, my roommate was awesome, I miss him sometimes. I’m sure I miss this place, I spent so much time in it. Look me up? I’d like to know if life is much different in room 420.

crazy? probably. will it get thrown away by Housing as soon as they find it? most likely. but goddammit, I’m gonna try.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

i’m always in favor of more hidden notes to unknown parties in the world.

[uh, sorry if this posts 3 times? i keep pressing tab-enter and expecting it to submit my post, but for some reason the tab successor of this box isn’t the submit button.]

Comment by chrisamaphone

I agree; fantastic idea! The closest I ever came was a time capsule my sister and I made on January 1, 1996 to be opened by ourselves in 2006. It turned out really disappointing, actually, to see what 12-year-old me thought was important for 22-year-old me to know, like the ages of all my siblings and the president of the United States…

Comment by Greg

My grade school dug up a time capsule for their 30th anniversary when I was a fourth grader in 1998-99. We buried another one, to be viewed thirty more years into the future. I know I had a paper rendition of a Zoombini in there, and something else- I forget, and I remember signing the plastic bin for the fourth grade and attending ceremonies and eating GIANT CAKE. Sometimes I used to walk over its burial mound, topped with a plaque inscribed with the quote by Isaac Newton about seeing far because of walking on the shoulders of giants. Sad thing is, I will probably not be there to see it dug up.

Comment by ntr




Leave a Reply

