Sitting at my Ono Sendai


hey girl, hey boy
November 21, 2008, 7:52 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags:

somehow Mashup Friday has turned into “let’s find songs that I secretly wish I had sung”

let’s turn it back to Mashup Friday shall we? (this post is dedicated to _wirehead_, who I wish I could accompany to BootieNYC tonight. maybe someday…maybe someday)

“But Dannel, what is a mashup?” you say. Oh you poor unknowing person, how have you spent all this time in the world of today, much less, on the world wide web, the information superhighway, this, our united servers of DNS and not known the wonders of mashup music.

SHAME ON YOU. If only we had someone comically old to illustrate/explain what a mashup is. HMMMM

Oh! Thank you Sue Teller! ThSueTeller!

“Dannel, I’m mad at you! You’ve shown me nothing but an MC Chris video everyone but you has seen and an old lady pretending to be hood” you exclaim, like you know what you’re talking about :P

It’s true though, I apologize, maybe you wanted to see a mashup? Like this?

“WOAH! Is there more? Tell me more, tell me more. Was it love at first sight?”
Haha, yes it was, as if I wasn’t already infatuated with the culture surrounding music sampling. YAY! :D I also seem to have this compulsion to identify each song sampled in a mashup, even if it’s only there for a second.

“Dammit, I want more, is there more? I can’t get enough!” Use ‘the Google’, alternatively, here’s a YouTube playlist for you to start with. Keep in mind, most mashup artists do it for free, they often don’t make much for their work (because legally, things are *handwave* tricky), but they do contribute to the internet. There are mashup communities everywhere that post mashups or mashups-in-progress in mp3 form :D

Have fun! have a good weekend!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I have no point here.

[audio src="http://www.osymyso.com/mp3/osymyso%20-%20Intro-Inspection%5BFull-Length%5D.mp3" /]

No point at all.

Comment by Goob

Good article. stop by and check out more mashups at my site.

Comment by revy




Leave a Reply

