Sitting at my Ono Sendai


Long time waiting…
May 12, 2008, 10:27 pm
Filed under: thoughts | Tags: ,

Hi! It’s been a while, too long perhaps…

In any case, I hang around on Twitter a lot these days. Not that that link does you any good, it’s a private page, you’re welcome to friend me as long as you’re not some annoying twitterati who FRIENDS EVERYONE (seriously, stop it).

So, a small update on life is in order?

The semester was ok academically, I’m still waiting on grades and hoping I get a C in 212 and 213? That wouldn’t be horrible. I also took Information Warfare and Cognitive Psychology which were both interesting in different ways. I’ve since then promoted Psychology to the status of Almost-A-Science (running joke) but IT is still Absolut BS. I also registered for some classes in that there fall semester. Something along the lines of:
15317 1 CONSTRUCTIVE LOGIC    9.0 PFENNING
15396 A TPC SCI OF THE WEB    9.0 VON AHN ARELLANO
15440 1 CMPTR SYSTMS FUNDMTL 12.0 KESDEN
36217 A PROB THEO RNDM PROC   9.0 RINALDO
82455 A TPCS HISPANIC STUDY   9.0 DWORKIN
98095 A STUCO STREET FIGHTER  3.0 KANG

Notice anything cool? Need a hint? Another von Ahn class! and a Street Fighter StuCo! (taught by a friend of mine) :D

I’m also taking Kesden’s new Systems course, we’ll so how that works out. Oh, and I’m doing that crazy Constructive Logic thing with Pfenning! :D:D what? I like logic, it’s fun… ::psyduck::

Oh, that’s something else I should talk about, I’m currently fighting this weird internal conflict where I love all the crazy shit you can do with systems (it’s the heart of computer science!) but at the same time love all these delicious logic and type theory things (it’s the heart of computer science!). It’s been a particular conflict this semester because I took the intro(?) classes for both of those areas I guess. I feel really torn, I wish I had all the time in the world to understand both of them completely?

On a more personal take of the semester, it’s been…interesting? I’m not sure interesting is the right word. Piece by piece I suppose.

Movies: Last movie I saw in theaters was the recent Harold and Kumar. Pretty amazing, good, if not better than the last one. I’ve yet to see Iron Man (I know, I know, I’m a bad person) or Smart People (the movie who’s shoot I walked in front of on my way to Concepts one day). I want to go see The Wackness and Pineapple Express sometime this summer.

Music: Not enough of it? Maybe too much of it? I’m somewhat disillusioned by the usual at the moment, Ratatat still manages to tickle my music bone, as do the Barbatuques.

Puzzles: I WON A PUZZLEHUNT! All I’m going to say is PINKERTON and what an awesome puzzlehunt it was. Too long? Maybe… Too hard? No, not really…Too awesome? The Conspiracy of Awesome can never be too awesome.

People: I somehow managed to repeat part of last spring, I’m not going to say much more about it but I have great friends I guess. Like my parents and other people have said, I’ll always be surrounded by great friends, I’m that kind of person.

I’m going to end it there. I have a week before I move anywhere, if you need me, it’s probably easy enough to find me. Also crossing my fingers in hopes of another job for the summer. I originally thought I would dedicate myself to something I thought was worthwhile, but apparently certain people don’t want to make it worthwhile. That’s unfortunate.

Someone reassure me it’s going to be a good summer?

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

It is going to be a good summer .. of course, the details of that are up to us!

Comment by mbh




Leave a Reply

