Sitting at my Ono Sendai


“Cool it, brothers…”
November 24, 2007, 4:21 am
Filed under: thoughts | Tags: ,

those were Malcolm X’s last words (apparently, he may or may not have exclaimed a dying groan of some sort but it doesn’t really count). I don’t know what I meant to say, other than…those are some damn cool last words, why did I never learn things like that in school?

I’m going to rant, mostly about music and things that I miss, so I’ll cut this short (feedwise)

If you feel like reading about dancing on the 28X and exploring my musical mind, go on.

Edit_0: Oh wow, how could I forget this? Following a discussion on African and Afro-Cuban music on Sunday I found it intriguing I stumbled upon this gem by DJ Spooky. Make sure you read the post. It may not be your cup of tea, but I’ll always encourage you to give it a try. I bet you won’t, but prove me wrong >:D

For as long as I’ve had them, I’ve been traveling with my trusty MDR-V600s attached to some music device. Oh the genres I have heard, friends, I’ll never be able to stop. They have begun to die, and a new pair, if not, a newer model are on my wishlist.

But I digress…I got on to the 28x flyer at the ungodly hour of 6 am on this Wednesday morning, a quick look around revealed what one would expect: your tired, your poor, your college students. But I refused to take another ride on this tired bus, so I reached into my bag and hit the oversized Play button on my iPod shuffle. Lo and behold, Daft Punk’s Alive 2007 begins to play as I reach the back of the bus. Eventually I stopped at that little enclave of the bus that is the second door…perfect. I lifted my suitcase on top some others and grabbed hold of one of the security bars (or whatever the hell they’re called) and began to groove. Not overly excited or obvious dancing but I was moving enough that it wasn’t the regular bounces or curves of the 28x, if any of you had seen me at MSTRKRFT, it’s how I get into the groove, little moves to the music that build up. Everyone on the back of the bus was otherwise occupied, a couple of girls were talking, many of the guys were asleep, one freshman was still frustrated over his code (it was in Java, I didn’t have much sympathy). As I moved and lip synced the lyrics that only I could hear, the two closest girls visibly noticed what I was doing and giggled and stared for a bit before returning to conversation. I “danced” the whole way to the airport, I couldn’t stop. I encourage you to do this next time you’re in a similar position, dance on a bus, why not?

I have several issues with this iPod nation we’ve quickly become, my biggest issue is best illustrated by an Asian couple I observed on the bus. Here they were, the only other two people visibly awake on this bus heading toward the airport and unlike the two girls who conversed every so often, they spake not a single word. Quizzically, I stared as I danced. I found the problem a few minutes in, they were both listening to their own iPods (or insert brand of Korean MP3 player here). Now, I’m all in favor of doing your own thing musically, going your own way and listening to what you like and what you love but…this seemed cold. Some big part of me wanted to go over there and rip one of those damn white earbuds out of each of their ears and exchange them. SHARE MUSIC, especially with that person you’re supposed to be with. I’ve too much confidence in music it seems. Part of me wants to be Radio Raheem, walking down the streets with a giant boombox on my shoulder. That’s invasive, but it works, and I really want a giant boombox.

Which brings me loosely to my next point: don’t expect much, don’t expect anything at all. Some of you may have decoded that post, good for you, you know my embarrassing secret. But what does this have to do with music…at all? Well, it was because of music that it happened and because of it that I went down that rabbit hole. And that’s where I’m done being obscure.

I think I’m done now, I know I had tons more things to share with you all but for the life of me, I can’t recall. I’ll leave you with a bit from Daft Punk’s Alive 2007, I really should order the album once it comes out.

And if you’re wondering about post frequency, I wouldn’t expect much of anything, I don’t feel comfortable with a lot of things anymore and will probably stop talking about life here. Sure, I could start an LJ and flock posts but, I don’t even feel comfortable enough to discuss things with myself at the moment.

For now, enjoy all the music posts I’ve made. I’ll be making more as I make up my mind about things. I might make another puzzle post soon if I so feel like it. I really should practice writing more puzzles…

Last night, I had a dream about you.

why is it that things only go right in dreams?

ps_aux: I’m wondering how many people will awkwardly try to talk about this post, especially all the wrong things in it.

“Cool it, brothers…”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

