Sitting at my Ono Sendai


CMU has mascot variables *surprise*
May 29, 2007, 9:55 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags:

apparently, according to my C/UNIX professor, CMU has metasyntactic mascot variables like “foo”, “bar”, “baz” and “gorp”.

Ok, so I’m pretty sure I’m not wrong, correct me if I am, but the only CMU specific metasyntactic variable is “gorp” (according to this). Damn assumptions! You can’t make assumptions like that Hoffman!

*is mad now, is also not paying attention*

“foo”, “bar”, and “baz” come from everywhere. most likely MIT, cuz that’s how they think (they’re very unoriginal). I’m pretty sure “baz” comes from Zork somewhere. “foo” and “bar” come from a vocalization of the acronym FUBAR, which in my opinion, describes a lot of code <_<

for more metasyntactic variable fun
while I’m here, and bored.

“So Ann and Bob are trying to establish encrypted two party communication. They exchange private keys and…”
“Wait…who the fuck is Ann and where the fuck is Alice?!”

And that my friends is the proper usage of the interrobang, punctuation of the future.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

CMU invented trail mix? What?

Comment by Sleepsong




Leave a Reply

