Sitting at my Ono Sendai


that ended on a good note I guess
March 23, 2007, 2:25 am
Filed under: thoughts | Tags:

Birthday wasn’t that bad. Got a set of individually (and quite meticulously) wrapped presents, I still think each of them were the best and most thoughtful presents I’ve received in a very long time. I was kinda scared to open them, they were just so prettily wrapped. ^_^ Thanks again (I know you’re reading this). Anyways, some memories I’d like to keep from today after the cut.

Got a cool letter from my dad. It included a scan of a picture of me on my first day of school. In hindsight, he’s reminded me of a very important part of my education: I asked for it. He wrote:

“Te envío en el adjunto un mensaje con una foto que encontré cuando asistías al Santa Anita donde tu mismo pediste que se te matricule, es decir que tu Alma Mater inicial es el Santa Anita de Ilo, Perú.”

That was me, some 14 years ago

 

 

Which in short is a very sentimental memory reminding me that indeed, I asked for it. I asked for that first day of school. The same way I asked for Carnegie Mellon (which tonight has reminded me why, more in a bit). Also, translation: “I’ve attached a picture of you when you attended Santa Anita (Pre-K) where you yourself begged us to enroll you in, in other words, your first Alma Mater is Santa Anita of Ilo, Peru”. Yes, that’s me, in the garden of our first house (such a beautiful and well kept garden too), anyways *sigh* it was a very nice present, it reminds me how much my parents are proud of me. I guess, sometimes I feel like I might disappoint them.
Another memory from today includes a longstanding CMU tradition. I won’t go into the details of holding the fence, the wiki article on CMU traditions seems to hold a satisfactory description of the fence tradition here. In any case, I helped hold the fence through part of the afternoon. It was a nice day out for the most part. Then at midnight I returned to help paint the base coat of the KGB fence advertisement for CtFwS. Lots of fun, lots of crazy, random dude, zombie-dancing in a blue cloak with a clasp XD. I left after that, I was feeling tired and did not feel like watching paint dry (riveting!).

And here’s a few mini memories:

  • Sitting on the fence with Cass and Kristin singing: “She’s gonna bake me a cake” (inside joke)
  • Having to beat Mackey up and tell him that the Math Club could not have the fence (not really, but as far as everyone else is concerned, we put up a fight).
  • Getting a happy birthday email from my Aikido sensei. I miss Aikido, it wasn’t just exercise.
  • Getting a birthday email from my Math teacher from senior year.
  • Birthday email script from The Pokemasters Forums still remembers me, even if I haven’t been active for over 5 years. It’s a sign I think, this steampunk RPG is going to happen, it’ll take me time, but it’ll happen. I need it for my sanity.
  • The Facebook Birthday wall flood (’nuff said)

 

It’s also a good thing I stayed away from 7th Morewood today, I don’t think I could have taken it. Both 251 and that other thing ¬_¬ (the unit). And also TFF35(or 7)9O(n^2)cc ^_^ I don’t know why that’s still in my head. Here’s more of that thing I do:

  • Listening to: The Rapture – Pieces Of The People We Love, great album, all the way through. I need to catch up on music, I’ve been away.
  • Reading: Kurt Vonnegut – Cat’s Cradle, yay! -_- I’m putting The Difference Engine off again, but I did finish the part I was reading of Lynxblade, I now have a whole new part to read. YAY! ^_^ I’m sorta hooked.
  • Watching: the hours count down until CtFwS, the rain fall, the spring cometh
  • That DIY on the Internet which you tell yourself you’re going to do but will probably postpone indefinitely: This ^_^U

 

This morning, I woke up
Feeling brand new and I jumped up
Feeling my high’s, and my low’s
In my soul, and my goals
Just to stop smoking, and stop drinking
And I’ve been thinking – I’ve got my reasons
Just to get by, just to get by
Just to get by, just to get by

Talib Kweli – Get By

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

